The Gatlinburg Police Department was formed in 1945 with two police officers. Today, the department has 45 Sworn Officers, 8 Jailer/Dispatchers, and 2 Administrative Personnel.

Since 1945, the Police Department has had a change at the position of Chief of Police ten times with nine Chiefs having held the position.   

1. Mib Horner
2. Charles Pickle
3. John P. Noland
4. Willie B. Ogle 
5. Brownlee Reagan 
6. Willie B. Ogle
7. H.H. Leatherwood
8. Jim Kelly
9. Harry Montgomery
10. Randall Brackins

The Police Department has had only one officer killed in the line of duty since 1945. Patrolman Jerry Dean Huskey was killed by an armed suspect which he was attempting to arrest on June 14th, 1975. His memorial is listed at www.odmp.org/officer/6885-patrolman-jerry-dean-huskey

On October 7, 2010, the Police Department was proud to become one of the first state accredited law enforcement agencies in Sevier County.  The Police Department was accredited by the Tennessee Law Enforcement Accreditation committee in Nashville, Tennessee.  The Accreditation Program is administered by the Tennessee Association of Chiefs of Police and is intended to encourage cooperation, recognize professional standing, encourage professional services and ensure public safety throughout the State of Tennessee. This program is a valuable and cost effective way to enhance overall agency effectiveness and professionalism