Building & Planning

The Gatlinburg Building and Planning Department is responsible for the City's physical and socioeconomic planning, including land use review, preparation of plans and policies, and provision of technical assistance and planning information to the public, government agencies, city officials, and community boards. The Department conducts review functions associated with development activities within the City of Gatlinburg ranging from subdivision developments and Planned Unit Developments, to the issuance of permits for signs, residential dwellings and commercial developments. 

The Building and Planning Department is located upstairs in Suite 4 at City Hall. The office hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m., except for observed holidays. 

Our Bulidng and Planning Department Staff Includes: 

The Building and Planning Department may be contacted at:
Telephone: (865) 436-7792

Fax: (865) 430-1359

All building permits are processed through